The Initial Insult

Try it Now Firm without compromise. Cancel whenever you want.


In the first book of a suspenseful YA duology, award-winning author Mindy McGinnis draws inspiration from Edgar Allan Poe and masterfully delivers a dark, propulsive mystery in alternating points of view that unravels a friendship . . . forevermore. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Truly Devious!

Tress Montor’s family used to mean something—until she didn’t have a family anymore. When her parents disappeared seven years ago while driving her best friend home, Tress lost everything. The entire town shuns her now that she lives with her drunken, one-eyed grandfather at what locals refer to as the “White Trash Zoo.”

Felicity Turnado has it all: looks, money, and a secret. One misstep could send her tumbling from the top of the social ladder, and she’s worked hard to make everyone forget that she was with the Montors the night they disappeared. Felicity has buried what she knows so deeply that she can’t even remember what it is . . . only that she can’t look at Tress without feeling shame and guilt.

But Tress has a plan. A Halloween costume party at an abandoned house provides the ideal situation for Tress to pry the truth from Felicity—brick by brick—as she slowly seals her former best friend into a coal chute. Tress will have her answers—or settle for revenge.


  • Chapter 0

    Duration: 35s
  • Chapter 1 Part 1

    Duration: 08min
  • Chapter 2 Part 1

    Duration: 07min
  • Chapter 3 Part 1

    Duration: 02min
  • Chapter 4 Part 1

    Duration: 13min
  • Chapter 5 Part 1

    Duration: 14min
  • Chapter 6 Part 1

    Duration: 08min
  • Chapter 7 Part 1

    Duration: 02min
  • Chapter 8 Part 1

    Duration: 18min
  • Chapter 9 Part 1

    Duration: 05min
  • Chapter 10 Part 1

    Duration: 02min
  • Chapter 11 Part 1

    Duration: 04min
  • Chapter 12 Part 1

    Duration: 03min
  • Chapter 13 Part 1

    Duration: 06min
  • Chapter 14 Part 1

    Duration: 19s
  • Chapter 15 Part 1

    Duration: 07min
  • Chapter 16 Part 1

    Duration: 09min
  • Chapter 17 Part 1

    Duration: 10min
  • Chapter 18 Part 1

    Duration: 01min
  • Chapter 19 Part 1

    Duration: 05min
page 1 from 5